Bill Resurfaces In North Carolina Legislature That Would Dissolve NCHSAA | Education

For 2021, Watauga is the only Level 3 county out of 14 in the Triad and Northwestern North Carolina.

The level 2 counties are Alamance, Alleghany, Ashe, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin. The level 1 counties are Randolph, Rockingham and Wilkes.

Support local journalism

Your subscription makes our report possible.


Grants from the investment fund would have allowed a Tier 1 county to receive $ 3 in grant funds for every $ 1 in county funds with a limit of $ 15 million on grant funds per county.

For Tier 2 counties, they would receive $ 1 in grant funds for every $ 1 in county funds with a limit of $ 10 million on grant funds per county.

Grant funds would have been allowed to be used on new school buildings and school sports facilities, but not for real estate acquisitions.

“This amendment suggests to me that supporters of the bill think they might be able to round up enough yes votes if they take the subsidies out of the equation,” said Mitch Kokai, senior policy analyst at from the libertarian think tank John Locke Foundation. “Helping smaller, poorer school districts is a top priority for the most vocal supporters of this change.

“But they seem willing to sacrifice that part of their plan if the sacrifice helps Bill cross the goal line,” Kokai said.


Source link

About Colin Shumway

Check Also

The impact of the cost of living on the returns to higher education – Institute for Fiscal Studies

Accurate estimates of the returns to different higher education courses are vital. Information on the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *