Mask or no mask: which ENC school systems have decided

GREENVILLE, NC (WNCT) – School systems across eastern North Carolina have come together in recent weeks to determine what steps to take when it comes to wearing masks in the classroom.

Most school systems have already made a decision, however, some are still debating the issue or will make a decision in the coming days.

Below are the Eastern North Carolina school systems with the latest information on what each will be doing at the start of the fall calendar year. We will update this story as we receive more information.

Beaufort County: Beaufort County Schools Make Masks Optional for Students and Employees

Bertie County: Will decide at their next school council meeting

Carteret County: Carteret County Public School Board votes unanimously to make masks optional in classrooms

Craven County: Craven County BOE Decides Mandatory Mask Mandate for Staff, K-8 Students; Optional for levels 9-12

Currituck County: Optional masks in Currituck County for the upcoming school year

Ose County: The decision will likely be made at a special meeting of the Dare County Schools Board of Education on Thursday at 5 p.m.

Duplin County: Duplin County schools will require masks for students and staff during the school year

Edgecombe County: Masks are mandatory for all students and staff regardless of their immunization status, according to the Edgecombe County Public Schools Facebook page.

Gates County: Schools in Gates County will return to classrooms full time; mandate masks for staff and students

Greene County: Greene County schools will require masks for all staff, students indoors

County of Hertford: County of Hertford to require masks for students and staff, have in-person learning 5 days a week

Hyde County: No decision has been announced

Jones County: Face masks are optional for students and staff, officials told the WNCT on August 3.

County of Lenoir: Will decide at their next school council meeting on August 9th.

Martin County: Martin County schools vote for students and staff to wear masks in the coming school year

Onslow County: Will make the decision at the August 10, 6 p.m. meeting: Originals Online: Onslow County Schools Release Draft COVID-19 Protocols For 2021-2022, Seeking Community Feedback

Pamlico County: Face masks are optional for students and staff, according to the Pamlico County Schools Facebook page.

Pasquotank County: Will require masks on buses and in classrooms. They won’t be needed outside, according to The Daily Advance newspaper.

Pender County: Will not require face masks for students and staff, according to the school system’s Facebook page.

Perquimans County: Face masks will only be required on school buses. They are strongly encouraged inside the school.

Pitt County: Pitt County school boards mask requirements for upcoming school year, decision to be made on August 16

Nash County: Nash and Lee counties vote to impose masks on all students and staff

County Tyrrell: Tyrrell County Schools Decide to Make Masks Optional; Washington County will require masks

Washington County: Schools in Tyrrell County decide to make masks optional; Washington County will require masks

Wilson County: Face masks are mandatory for all students and staff. The decision will be reconsidered in October, according to the Wilson County Schools Facebook page.

About Colin Shumway

Check Also

Health officials call for these actions as new variant of COVID emerges

“We are monitoring our positivity rates; we are monitoring our hospitalizations, ”said Mannepalli. “We’re monitoring …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *