University of Alabama Gives Rural Students Insight into the Health Profession

Rural Alabama high school students and recent graduates participate in annual programs this summer at University of Alabama, where they learn that their communities need more doctors and health professionals.

Through the Minority Rural Health Fellows Program and Rural Health Fellows Program, both part of the UA College of Community Health Sciences, 27 high school students and graduates spend five weeks on campus taking credit college courses and preparing for education and training in the health professions.

The aim of the programs is to encourage students to consider health professions. With funding from the Alabama Family Practice Rural Health Board programs, students do not have to pay for tuition, accommodation, and field trips.

“The Rural Health Fellowship and Rural Health Fellowship for Minorities programs are great opportunities for students in rural Alabama to learn about different careers in health,” said Cynthia Moore, deputy director of Rural High School programs at the AU College of Community Health Sciences. “The students enjoyed the seminars and learned a lot from the lecturers. “

Both programs are part of the college’s nationally recognized program. Rural health leaders pipeline and offered in collaboration with Alabama area health education centers. The AHECs were created by Congress in 1971 to increase the quantity, diversity and distribution of health professionals, particularly in rural and underserved areas.

The Minority Rural Health Scholars program aims to increase the number of minority students in rural Alabama who qualify for admission to medical school. (University of Alabama)

The Minority Rural Health Scholars program aims to increase the number of rural Alabama minority students who qualify for admission to medical school. The program is aimed at high school graduates who, in addition to taking courses at AU, receive tutorials to improve their testing knowledge and skills in order to achieve competitive scores on the Medical school admission test (MCAT). Students follow doctors and other health professionals.

The Rural Health Scholars program aims to provide growing high school students in rural Alabama communities with opportunities to pursue careers in medicine and the health professions. Students take college courses, attend seminars with practicing healthcare professionals, and visit healthcare facilities.

Moore said this summer that students, who spent the last year taking high school classes on Zoom due to the pandemic, “had to learn to readjust to attend classes in person and adapt to different styles. teaching ”.

The college’s mission is to improve and promote the health of individuals and communities in rural Alabama and the Southeast region through leadership in medical and health-related education; primary care and population health; the provision of accessible and quality health services; and research and scholarship.

This summer’s participants are:

Minority researchers in rural health:

  • Lisset Amado, from Slocomb in the canton of Geneva.
  • Danaea Miller, of Dixon Mills in Marengo County.
  • Naomi Perez, from Heflin in Cleburne County.
  • Kaitlyn Riggins of Eclectic in Tallapoosa County.
  • Za-Nyah Truitt, from New Brockton in Coffee County.
  • Shaniya Warburton, from Florence in County Lauderdale.
  • Jacob Webber, of Madison, Madison County.

Rural health researchers:

  • Kiana Adams, of McIntosh, Washington County.
  • Aaron Barrett of Valley in Chambers County.
  • Denzel Childs, of Marion in Perry County.
  • Mia Deason, from Clanton, County Chilton.
  • Erica Doss, originally from Andalusia in County Covington.
  • Alejandro Elizondo, from Pisgah, Jackson County.
  • Hannah Frost, from Berry in Fayette County.
  • Maggie Hammack, also from Berry.
  • Khamani Hampton, of Killen in County Lauderdale.
  • Nia Jones, from Attalla in Etowah County.
  • Kalin Lewis, from Faunsdale in Marengo County.
  • Deshadia Lowery, from Orrville, Dallas County.
  • Matthew Martin, from Jasper, Walker County.
  • Lilly McCauley, of Prattville, Autauga County.
  • Kasia Nicholson of Pine Hill in Wilcox County.
  • Shemai’ya Peak, Millbrook, Elmore County.
  • Kyle Shaw of Fairhope in Baldwin County.
  • John Skelton, of Northport in Tuscaloosa County.
  • Taleedra Smith of Marion in Perry County.
  • Samantha Stanley, from the Center in Cherokee County.

This story originally appeared on the University of Alabama website.

Source link

About Colin Shumway

Check Also

FSU President Focuses on Research and Entrepreneurship Speaking to Economic Club of Florida

Richard McCullough was confirmed as the 16th president of Florida State University in June. During …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *